Not the usual trance we talk about here, but good music. Trust me.

Stylistically classifying what Zoo Brazil does is a feat most John Andersson watchers gave up on time ago. Never out of design, a desire to confound or to duck the sound-du-jour, it’s simply a consequence of his deep-within musical wanderlust. As a result, more than the average, Zoo Brazil’s longplayers have served as critical waypoint snapshots of where – musically - John’s at.

The transitional arc of his last three have been particularly contrasting. 2012’s ‘Any Moment Now’ was his most song-centric, while ‘Point Of View’ in 2018 saw him explore an as-pacey, but altogether moodier, sombre and possibly even more introspective sonic. And come 2020, through ‘For Sins And False Alarms’, another acknowledgeable different theme prevails. Two years and two months removed from ‘Point Of View’, the Swede fields 12 new tracks, which see the tone deepen and the musical outline reshape into something altogether clubbier.

More instrument-driven in nature, its vocal-less numbers regularly touch on styles broadly housey (both classic and contemporary) and techno-like in style. The vocal cuts that do exist have allowed John to resume working with a close-knit group of singers. ‘Any Moment Now’ and ‘Point Of View’ alumni Ursula Rucker returns, whilst having sung on ‘POV’s ‘Nine Mind’, English songstress Mama’s also back behind the mic. John’s brought new blood in too, with Laura Bettinson (under her FEMME pseudonym) likewise lending voice to ‘Sins’.

‘Getting Closer’ strikes a breezily positive opening note for ‘Sins’, which - through its riff sway, French House suggestions and strummed guitars summons much coastal ether. Every bit its partner, ‘Brighter Than The Sun’ adds bass pulse and shaking breaks, before underscoring its blissed-out chorus with subtle 303. Routing the album down a sparser, more minimal line, ‘I Don’t Remember’ hooks the attention with its haunting sirenic female harmonies and deceptively slight timbale percs. ‘Mystery Walk’ raises the bass profile, kicks the tempo up again and goes night-time cruising. Maintaining the floor pace, ‘Intersong’ brings undulating LFO waves, harmonic float and bass guitar thrum, while reverb, vocoder & snare mark out ‘Alone’s production.

As it passes its midpoint, John unscrews the vocal valve some, releasing more song-led cuts into ‘Sins’ system. Wrapped in an irresistibly groovesom production and lent classic house style by Ursula Rucker, ‘Never Enough’ delivers a stream-of-consciousness on consumerism. ‘Were sophisticated monsters of glamour’ smoulders London-born/Berlin-based singer Mama on ‘Monique’, as John’s production feeds the track house-sultry rhythms and melodies. ‘Atlantis’ meanwhile ushers in some Knuckles/Heard vibes & instrumentation, before ‘Change You’ housily pumps thing back up, replete with it every-bit-as Chicago-esque male vox. Tying off ‘For Sins And False Alarms’, ‘Sweet Talk’ flips both tone and chromosome, as singer FEMME upliftingly brings the album to an end-of-the-night-vibed conclusion.

With subtlety it’s foremost watchword and sophistication a close second ‘For Sins And False Alarms’ by Zoo Brazil sees release on March 27. Full tracklist details are below and you can preorder it from today here (

1. Getting Closer
2. Brighter Than The Sun
3. I Don't Remember
4. Mystery Walk
5. The Sun
6. Intersong
7. Alone
8. Never Enough (with Ursula Rucker)
9. Monique (with MAMA)
10. Atlantis
11. Change You
12. Sweet Talk (with FEMME)


Markus Schulz brings Destinations to Spotify

Every journey’s gotta have a destination in mind and this one’s certainly no exception! At the start of the year Markus Schulz's unquenchable love of mixing set him down a new path. Destinations (available now exclusively through Spotify) is his new monthly mix concept. With its own individual mandate, the show will provide fans with a monthly streaming partner to the airing of his weekly, award-winning and now eighteen-years-and-running Global DJ Broadcast radio show

Comprising of 30 tracks, it puts into the sharpest of perspectives Markus’s broad canvas of electronic music loves. Voyaging the techno-depths, travelling the prog foothills and reaching up to the trance heights, each mix journeys towards its Destination. Setting it apart from GDJB, Markus has used the new format to dig back into the crates in order to contrastingly set some legacy tracks - both well-known and more personal ones - into each edition.

A new episode of Destinations becomes available on the first Friday of every month, with the complete playlist available through Online today, March’s features fresh cuts from BT, Protoculture, Above & Beyond, Oliver Smith, Purple Stories Anske and others. Seamlessly woven in & around are tracks more classic in nature, including those from Chicane, Gabriel & Dresden, Giuseppe Ottaviani and Markus himself.

For those with one eye/ear on the future and the other on electronic music’s rich and storied past, Destinations splits the atom. Hit up Spotify to check this month’s Destinations now.

Destinations:3 Tracklist:

01. BT - Atari's Lantern [Armind]
02. Oliver Smith - Warehouse [Anjunabeats]
03. Rodg - 9th Ave [Armada Music]
04. Mike EFEX - Exodus [Coldharbour Black]
05. Anske - Back in Time [Coldharbour Recordings]
06. Yuri Kane & Ana Criado - Running Wild [Raz Nitzan Music]
07. Protoculture - Titan [A State of Trance]
08. Mr. Pit - Shana (Plastic Angel vs. Duderstadt Remix) [Armada Music]
09. Above & Beyond - Blue Monday [Anjunabeats]
10. Daxson - Bexley Square [Coldharbour Recordings]
11. Ferry Corsten & HALIENE - Wherever You Are [Flashover Recordings]
12. Ruben de Ronde & Evgeny Lebedev - Neverlost [Statement!]
13. John Grand - Echo Memory [Euphonic]
14. Markus Schulz presents Dakota - Who Are You [Coldharbour Recordings]
15. Cosmic Gate & Ilan Bluestone - Be Your Sound (Ilan Bluestone Remix) [Wake Your Mind]
16. Andy Moor - Resurrection [AVA Recordings]
17. Tom Fall - Arcadia [A State of Trance]
18. Markus Schulz & Adina Butar - Indestructible [Coldharbour Recordings]
19. Mr. Sam featuring clAud9 - Cygnes (First State Remix) [Magik Muzik]
20. Daniel Wanrooy - Back for More (Markus Schulz In Search of Sunrise Rework) [Coldharbour Recordings]
21. Arkham Knights - Medusa [Coldharbour Recordings]
22. Holbrook & SkyKeeper - The Endless [Flashover Recordings]
23. Giuseppe Ottaviani - Aurora [Black Hole Recordings]
24. Pants & Corset - Malice in Wonderland 2019 (Phutek Remix) [HTE Recordings]
25. Claus Backslash - Mysterious Ways [We Are Trance]
26. Purple Stories - Breathless [Coldharbour Recordings]
27. ENZO - Letting Go [AVA Recordings]
28. Sean & Xander - 29 [M.I.K.E. Push Studio]
29. Markus Schulz and Departure with Gabriel & Dresden - Without You Near (Fisherman Remix) [A State of Trance]
30. Chicane featuring Moya Brennan - Saltwater [Armada Music]