Ohhh Ohhh Ohhhh! This is a compilation to drool for. Or at least I am. Since I first listened, I new I have to have it. This compilation is everything I wanna listen to a chill evening, or every time I want to relax all my senses. This compilation is airy. It is romantic. It is ecstatic. It drive the mind to the dreamiest places.

30 months on from Bonzai’s first (Airwave helmed) “Progressive Sessions, Belgium’s finest sure-footedly arrive at their sixth “In The Mix”! And who to choose to do this, if not the amazing Gai Barone? With a zeitgeist-like timing, Bonzai have handed the I.T.M mix reins to this electronic music savant. The Italian’s first solo mixed release, it puts his singular take on electronic music – one more complex and meticulous in character – into tack-sharp focus.

Be you trance, progressive or house, if the name Gai Barone didn’t pass your lips in 2017, well better bet it will this year! Why, you may ask? Because his intrinsic sound is at the tipping point in 2018.

“From the top down, everyone’s saying itThis will be the year of Deep. You only have to look at the direction of arena stages, club line-ups, label output, radio playlists, etc to see where that’s coming from. It’s just one of the reasons I’m so thrilled to be bringing this release in the earliest months of the most promising of electronic music years.” – Gai Barone 

His mix creation is simple: “music of substance, not simplicity. Some find it easier to corral the music I play into the “deep trance’ bracket, which I do understand. We live in a world of classification. I do feel there’s significantly more range to it though… You are not going to hear one harmonic trancer or deep-prog number after another, after another here. The mixes are designed as end-to-end listens. What happens in between is not always going to be what’s expected.” 

His “substance not simplicity” mandate rings true throughout Part 1. Gai’s trademark ‘portrait-style’ compiling (each track at once standing out, yet working coherently in the album’s framework) delivers Kymatik’s ‘Knights of the Jaguar’ channeling ‘La Bataeu Ivre, the chugging ‘Inversion’ from Chris Cargo, TR20’s hardier ‘Perception Management’ and the cooler frisson of ‘Behind’ from newcomers Revolutionary Blocks. The mix concludes with Andromedha’s revision of York & Ramon (Hardfloor) Zenker’s ‘China Girl’.

His own music naturally plays a key role in the threading of both mixes. New cuts ‘Tanita’ and ‘Cantica’ both debuts within the first half. ‘Something Between Us’ and ‘The Bloop’ meanwhile etch waypoints in the second. Interlaced between are Oovation’s synth-warping ‘Solar’, ‘The Passenger’ from Montenegro’s AudioStorm, Yuriy From Russia’s elegiac ‘Black Lagoon’ and the drop-side intensity of ‘Dust of Light’ c/o Mark Found. The release plays out with the epic-in-scope, first time teaming of Solarstone & John 00 Fleming with ‘Hemispheres’

A 20/20 insight into his deep house thru harmonic trance range, you can order Gai Barone – In The Mix 006 – Progressive Sessions here. Full tracklist details below.

Gai Barone – In The Mix 006

Part 1 

01° Gai Barone – Tanita (Intro Mix)
02° Tannura – Halfway (Original Mix)
03° Gai Barone – Cantica (Gai Is Coming To Town Remix)
04° Kymatik – La Bataeu Ivre (Original Mix)
05° Lunar Park – Tantra (Original Mix)
06° Chris Cargo – Inversion (Original Mix)
07° Danito & Athina – City Lights (Stereo Underground Remix)
08° Morttagua & Gaby Endo – Urania (Gai Barone Depth Mode Remix)
09° Blufeld – Tristful Sleeper (Original Mix)
10° TR20 – Perception Management (Original Mix)
11° Revolutionary Blocks – Behind (Original Mix)
12° Quadran featuring Tasha – Unlovable (Nico Parisi Instrumental Remix)
1° York & Ramon Zenker – China Girl (Andromedha Remix)

Part 2 

01° Matan Caspi – Shiny Coral Reefs (Alex Vidal Remix)
02° Coyu featuring Thomas Gandey – 1 + 1 (Gerd Janson Arp Mix)
03° Antidote – What Time Is Love (Stan Kolev Remix)
04° AudioStorm – The Passenger (Original Mix)
05° Gai Barone – Something Between Us (Original Mix)
06° Oovation – Solar (Michael A Remix)
07° Gabriel West & Ricardo Piedra – Devon (Original Mix)
08° Yuriy From Russia – Black Lagoon (Original Mix)
09° Milla Nelson – Beautiful Beast (Original Mix)
10° Mark Found – Dust of Light (Original Mix)
11° Gai Barone – The Bloop (Original Mix)
12° Basil O’Glue – The Mars Project (Original Mix)
13° Solarstone & John 00 Fleming – Hemispheres