Subculture [Mixed by John O'Callaghan and Cold Blue]

You've seen this news on their socials. You've heard some tracks before. But I suppose, you never thought this will be the compilation of the year so far!

Call it a compilation, call it an album, call it whatever you like, this is a masterpiece! A masterpiece of handpicked tracks by John O'Callaghan and Cold Blue. Calling it simply Subculture, is just one of the things they "slap" up with.  You already know how huge of a fan of this guys I am. You know already how this article's gonna be. Full of excitement, full of happiness and playful thoughts.

Compilation of the year? Yes. Alongside other great ones, I really believe this deserves to be in your cart, in your playlist and on repeat! The tracks are all of them, so greatly built and they, all, tell a story. A story that turns into a fairytale, once the get all together on this. Subculture is a fairytale of a compilation. It is a dream. A dream came true, thanks to these 2 amazing producers JoC and Cold Blue. They are in it to win it and I hope they will never stop. As long as they are present in the scene, there is no way the trance music will ever fade. These are 2 brilliant minds to hold on, and everything they release is pure gold.

Both have used its occasion to put their own production material on the frontline of its mixes. So often the mainstay of their sets, across its 29 tracks, no fewer than 19 first gleamed from the DJs’ own studios. In doing so, it offers not only the most authentic of representations of their sets, but also as producers in their own right.

Filling in further Subculture shades from their significantly broad palette, you’ll find music from many others from their cadre. Giuseppe Ottaviani, Temple One and Craig Connelly are just some of the Subculture-ists whose work features significantly. Further in you’ll also find music other attuned trance operators - David Forbes, Sied van Riel, Liam Wilson, Alex Di Stefano among them.

First to the decks is the Subculture kingpin himself, O’Callaghan. Included amongst are upcoming single ‘Choice of the Angels’, album-premiering ‘Permutations’ and Giuseppe Ottaviani’s freshly juiced spin on the classic ‘Out Of Nowhere’. Temple One’s made sizeable waves for the label over the past 12 months. Reflecting that in sharpest possible focus, John works Temple’s ‘Encounter’, ‘Sun After Rain’ and ‘Reaching For A Dream’ into the mix. Two of Craig Connelly’s productions strike in succession at the midpoint with ‘A Reality’ and his latest 'Lost Without You’. Sied van Riel and Giuseppe Ottaviani meanwhile edge the mix-needle ever closer to the red with (respectively) ‘Hold Me Close’ and ‘Till The Sunrise’. It’s John’s own production hand that deals the disc its final coup-de-grace. In convoy, you’ll find current single ‘Next Stop Muddy Waters’, built-for-the-album ‘Requiem For An Angel’ and Stine Grove’s seraphim toned ‘Our Destiny’ - collectively bringing it to its zenith.

Now, if all that isn’t a quite, quite enough of a concentrated artistic dose for you, just wait and see what see Tobias Schuh has in store. Since his debut a decade ago, Cold Blue has enjoyed ever-greater acclaim with each year that’s passed. Those still awaiting an album debut can take in-lieu-of solace with what the man from Mainz has lined up. He binds no less than fourteen of his tracks and mixes into a beautifully arranged and thrillingly structured dive into the Blue. Among them are recent singles ‘Speed of Life’, ‘The Clash’, ‘Once In Time’ and ‘On The Outside, as well as current hit ‘Learning To Live’. There’s also a raft of his most recent remixes, expanding the floor reach of Lowland, Alex Di Stefano, David Forbes and others. Premiere material abounds too, with hot-off-the-desk exclusives like ‘Before We Leave’, ‘The Wave’, ‘A New Spirit’ and ‘Daylights’.

You can order your copy of the compilation here: ‘Subculture - Mixed by John O'Callaghan & Cold Blue.

Mix 1 - John O'Callaghan

01. John O'Callaghan - Permutations (Intro Mix)
 02. Liam Wilson - Always With Me
 03. Temple One featuring Deidre McLaughlin - Reaching for A Dream
 04. John O'Callaghan - Choice of the Angels
 05. John O'Callaghan featuring Josie - Out Of Nowhere (Giuseppe Ottaviani Remix)
 06. Temple One - Encounter
 07. Activa – Meridian
 08. Craig Connelly featuring Kate Miles - Lost Without You
 09. Craig Connelly - A Reality
 10. Temple One - Sun After Rain
 11. Sied van Riel featuring Natalie Gioia - Hold Me Close
 12. Giuseppe Ottaviani - Till The Sunrise
 13. John O’Callaghan - Next Stop Muddy Waters
 14. John O'Callaghan & Stine Grove - Our Destiny
 15. John O'Callaghan - Requiem For An Angel

Mix 2 - Cold Blue

01. Cold Blue - Before We Leave (Intro Mix)
 02. Cold Blue - The Wave
 03. Lowland - We've Been Here Before (Cold Blue Remix)
 04. Cold Blue - A New Spirit
 05. Cold Blue - Speed Of Life
 06. Cold Blue – Daylights
 07. Cold Blue - Learning To Live
 08. Cold Blue - The Clash
 09. Cold Blue - On The Outside (Original Mix)
 10. Jeff Rona - Like Water (Cold Blue Remix)
 11. Cold Blue - Before We Leave
 12. Alex Di Stefano - Never Back Down (Cold Blue Remix)
 13. David Forbes featuring Emma Gillespie - Shadows (Cold Blue Remix)
 14. Cold Blue - Once In Time (Original Mix)